week 8

This work week was a bit short because I had off on Wednesday for a holiday. I am really starting to get the hang of things around the office and am now really comfortable at my co op now I have been there for a couple of weeks. I am getting a lot closer to my co-workers and the other interns. I feel like I can have any conversation with them about anything and ask any questions I may ever have. I am included in all meetings and conversations around the office, which makes me feel like a big help because I am able to give my opinion on important things.

As we have been getting more samples into the office, I have been in charge of inventorying them into the system. This teaches me a lot of organization skills because I am dealing with hundreds of samples from different designers. It is a great feeling to know that my boss and the fashion team trust me with this. I also enjoy sometimes dropping samples off at other offices because I am able to see other companies and how they work. This week I dropped samples off at Blank NYC and Net-a-Porter, which are companies and brands that I have always admired.

I also am getting really used to navigating New York City. I have visited many restaurants and beautiful areas that I will remember for the rest of my life. I am making great memories in this wonderful city with my friends. The top image is a restaurant that I went to for lunch in SoHo, which had an amazing atmosphere. I took the image of the Flatiron Building while on a lunch break with my friend. I am looking forward to exploring more in New York City!

 

5 comments

  1. I am so jealous that you get to explore New York! Seems like you are trusted with a lot of responsibility and play as part of the team. I'm glad you are enjoying your Co-op! Looking forward to the other things that you have to do for your co op. Good luck!

  2. It is so interesting to read about people's different experiences with their co-op's. When it is time for me to be in a co-op I know I will definitely be nervous. You are so lucky that you are comfortable at your job and feel like you are an asset to your team! I would feel very proud to be included in all the meetings and to be trusted with the work that is given. It is nice to know that you have some free time to get to know New York and explore new restaurants. This post makes me excited for my future co-op and the new things I will experience there.

    • First of all, I am extremely jealous that you are on co-op in New York City. It has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember to be able to live and work in the city. It is really great how you are included in all the meetings and that your input and opinion is valued in those meetings and conversations. That is something I hope to have with my future co-ops as well. I’m sure while inventorying the numerous samples may seem tedious and overwhelming, it is a good thing to know how to do and be able to put down on your future resumes. It is so interesting to read about all the different co-op experiences people have had and I can only hope mine will be similar to yours. Good luck with the rest of your intern and enjoy New York while you can!

  3. First of all, I am extremely jealous that you are on co-op in New York City. It has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember to be able to live and work in the city. It is really great how you are included in all the meetings and that your input and opinion is valued in those meetings and conversations. That is something I hope to have with my future co-ops as well. I’m sure while inventorying the numerous samples may seem tedious and overwhelming, it is a good thing to know how to do and be able to put down on your future resumes. It is so interesting to read about all the different co-op experiences people have had and I can only hope mine will be similar to yours. Good luck with the rest of your intern and enjoy New York while you can!

  4. I love reading about other peoples experiences when on co-op. I would love to do co-op in New York as it is one of the fashion capitals of the world. New York is full of endless surprises and I’m glad that you are able to experience them on a daily basis while working on co-op doing a job you love. It’s also nice to know that even in a busy work environment you have enough spare time to explore the city. This makes me excited for co-op myself and I can’t wait to se where life takes me in the future.

Leave a Reply

