Model To Watch

By Emma Cataldi

Nineteen-year-old Philadelphia native, and personal friend, Julia Fleming, is making huge waves in the fashion industry. After only one year at Ursinus College, Julia found her true calling…modeling! Julia, who has always been tall, never really thought about modeling. After her first year at school, she decided to send some photos to Reinhard Model & Talent in Philadelphia just for fun. She ended up working for them for a short time, but was encouraged to go to New York because of her high fashion look. She immediately moved to New York to get her career started. Julia was signed with Next Models in July 2015 without any previous modeling experience AT ALL!

IG_FINALEDIT_WMAGAZINE_BEAUTYNEWFACE4245.jpg

Only a few shorts month after entering the industry, Julia was walking in New York fashion week. At the end of the week, she had walked in nine of the fashion industry’s top designer shows, such as Vera Wang, Coach, Narciso Rodriguez, Calvin Klein, and Rag & Bone (shown below). Not only did she wear two looks in the Rag & Bone show, she even served as the Spring 2016 muse for the designers, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright! Julia was just a shocked as any one of her friends and family; especially when I let her know she was on Elle Magazine’s Snapchat story!

_RAG0139.jpg

After amazing success in New York fashion week, Julia flew over to Europe and walked not only in London, but Milan and Paris as well! Just to give you a taste of her amazing experience, Julia was able to walk for designers such as, Paul Smith, Max Mara, Celine, Versace, Fendi, Alexander McQueen (omg), and, my personal favorite, Valentino. She ended having walked in a total of 36 shows, which is insane for having entered the industry only months ago.  Julia has been featured on Philly.com, wmagazine.com, and was even called “The Model to Watch” by fashionweekdaily.com. Recently, Julia did a Vogue Japan beauty story, which is beyond amazing! Julia is continuing to do amazing work and is traveling all over the world.

1-JULIA_FLEMING_VOGUE_JAPAN_JANUARY_2016_BEN_HASSETT-5.jpg

Julia has told me that this is all surreal and she never expected to make it this big. However, modeling has become a huge passion of hers and she wishes to continue pursuing it. She said in an interview that her dream is to become a Victoria’s Secret model. I mean who doesn’t have that dream, right? I wish Julia continued success….and hope one day she will get me an invite to the VS fashion show.

Julia-Fleming-Lineisy-Montero-Olivia-Jansing-MJJ_6211-2

7 comments

  1. Wow, it is hard to believe that she is only nineteen! Seeing someone my age doing so many amazing things already puts life in to perspective for me. This post inspires me, not to become a supermodel, but to be aware to live every day to the fullest. Julia seems to be living her dream, and I desire to get to the point where I am living my dream as well. Aside from the actual modeling, it seems as though her experiences along the way are spectacular as well. She has been given the opportunity to travel across the world and meet many creative, influential people. I hope that Julia continues on the journey of her dreams in a positive way.

  2. It’s amazing to see people find their true calling and have so much success with it. Julia is obviously a gorgeous girl with a ton of poise and potential. I hope she continues to do great things in the fashion industry and that she has many more years of success.

  3. This article gave me a lot of hope but also made me so jealous! That is incredible. I have always been interested in pursuing a modeling career and have done so, but not enough to make a living. I am not tall enough for runway, nor interesting looking for high fashion, so it is hard to find a right place for me in the market. I hope one day I get the chance to meet Julia, being in Philly, because at this rate, she is bound to be a super model. This article was so amazing to read.

  4. This article is truly inspiring. I have done some modeling myself, but have always felt discouraged due to my height so seeing a completely unexperienced girl who is the same age as me really fills me with hope. It is incredible that after such a short amount of time in the industry that she has already walked for such amazing designers. It is awesome that she is a Philly native and I would love to meet her one day!

  5. This article is truly inspiring. I have done some modeling myself, but have always felt discouraged due to my height so seeing a completely unexperienced girl who is the same age as me really fills me with hope. It is incredible that after such a short amount of time in the industry that she has already walked for such amazing designers. It is awesome that she is a Philly native and I would love to meet her one day

  6. This is such an amazing story. It actually reminds me of a girl my age at a neighboring high school. One day she was at my high school for a tennis match and the next she was walking in Chanel at Paris Fashion Week. It just goes to show how fast this industry works and if you got it, you definitely got it. I’m sure it was a complete and totally whirlwind for Julia and her entire family and I wish her immense success. Also so awesome to see a Philly girl making it big in the fashion industry!

  7. It was a surprise that she is only nineteen years old. Modeling career is hard to take her own place, but she try her best to get into the high fashion industry. Her nose looks gorgeous in different angle. I am little bit jealous about she get the chance to travel all over the world.

Leave a Reply

