A New Year at Freedom Rains

The start of the new year brings in many new prototypes to our office. We’ve been tirelessly working on the ZAC Zac Posen Fall ’16 outerwear collection for the past few months and now we finally get to see our efforts in person! Witnessing this whole process has been absolutely incredible. I’ve really enjoyed getting to see the life cycle of our product, from sketch to fit sample to final sample and everything in between. Of course, there are still changes to be made and not every coat will make the cut. We’ve already started dropping items from the line that our sales team has advised us against and although it’s sad, we know we can’t keep everything. However, this just means that what we do decide to keep will be the best of the best. We’re even packing up our extra samples to be shown in Milan for market week, which is amazing in itself to think that products I helped design will be sold on a global level.

It’s also been FullSizeRendersuper fun to come up with names for all the coats and it’s funny to think that each one has a different personality. We love using real female names to portray each coat as a different girl with a unique style. This year, our theme is inspired by nature, flowers, and forests. We’re introducing pop colors and experimenting with different fur pieces as a way to add a fun element and bring the line to the next level. To the left are some fox fur collars that we’re putting on some of our down coats for a splash of color and some interest. I think our team really wants to inspire consumers to think about outerwear in different ways. Although we tend to think of winter as a season of dark colors and nasty weather, it doesn’t always have to be that way. Having a fabulous coat can combat the winter blues all while keep you warm and making a statement.

6 comments

  1. I enjoyed reading about your experience at ZAC Zac Posen. It is really cool that you helped design the outwear that will be shown at fashion week! You must have learned so much designing the coats and seeing them from sketches to real life. This winter I have become obsessed with coats, so I completely agree that a great coat can make a statement and brighten your mood on a cold winter day! Good luck!

  2. The fact that you got to work on garments from start to finish and actually see the entire process in the real world is incredible and an experience I’m sure many people are jealous of. I love how you said you give the garments actual names for their “personalities,” that’s so funny and I guess after working with a product for so long it really does gain some characteristics. Can’t wait to hear more about everything going on at the office.

  3. I am such a fan of Zac Posen, I am so jealous! Those faux fur coats caught my attention immediately and I am so glad I decided to read this article. It’s mind blowing knowing that another Drexel student had the opportunity to work so closely with such a favorable brand/designer. As if working for Zac Posen wasn’t enough, having products you helped design travel the world to be shown is so incredible, you must feel amazing! I look forward to reading more about your time with the wonderful Zac himself.

  4. I think that it is so cool that you are able to work at Zac Posen, it just makes me excited for my own co-op experience. I think that its great we could possibly we could get a chance to work for such well known designers. It also seems that you are getting a good working experience, not just getting coffee but actually designing clothes.

  5. I love the concepts behind these coats. Giving each coat a name and personality adds a lot fun and intrigue to the garment. I also am completely enamored with the colored furs, they bring such an eclectic and whimsical feeling to the coat. Overall these coats look like they’re going to be a huge success I cant wait to see how they turn out!

  6. It is incredible that Drexel offers these types of opportunities to the Design and Merchandising students. I cannot imagine what is like to be a part of the product development process for such an amazing designer. This sounds like something I would love to do when I am on co-op. I have always loved going to fashion shows and thinking about the creative process that each piece in the show went through before being modeled. I personally love Zac Posen. I absolutely love the idea of the pop of color with fur on a winter coat. I also think it was a great idea to name the coats with real female names. It gives each coat its own identity.

Leave a Reply

