New Orleans for OPI

This week was full of mailings, mailings, some sendouts, and more mailings!  The hard part about this is that it was about 25 different products going into 100 different bags. To say the least, I dominated most of the intern area for the week.

On Wednesday I was actually surprised to find out I’d be helping with an OPI event! Since switching mentors, I’ve been working with more brands and it’s a great way to see all the different ways we do PR for them. Recently, OPI just launched a new collection inspired by New Orleans and the colors are gorgeous with the perfect names to fit them. The event took place in the World Trade Center in the Bon Appetit kitchen, since they are a sponsor of OPI. There was a photographer capturing images of nail polish and traditional New Orleans food and matching the shades with a particular food item. For the decor, another intern and I were in charge of putting beads everywhere…and I mean everywhere. We also set up goody bags (I was lucky enough to be able to take one home!). For the rest of the event, I did check-in for our guests. I’m always so happy when I’m given the chance to work events and to just see how much all the planning comes together in the end.

5 comments

  1. I think that it is so cool that you got to work and help out with an event for OPI. It sounds like such an amazing experience. It is really great that you got to see all of the planning that was put into the event also.

  2. This is awesome! Expanding your knowledge of different brands is always a great way to really get a feel for PR. I personally love OPI nail polish and had no idea they came out with a New Orleans line! It’s a perfect time for this to release since Mardi Gras was about a week ago. From what I can see in the pictures they really nailed the theme of this celebration and I’ll be sure to look more into these colors that look perfect for spring. Being apart of this experience must have really inspired you to learn more about PR and setting up events like these… and also being able to keep some of the goodies afterwards as well 🙂

  3. I find it very interesting to see how one has the chance to study and experiences first hand the many different PR departments. The OPI event seems like a huge success and very intriguing. I enjoy the way they paired different nail polish colours with different foods. It is amazing to see all the planning that goes into these events and seeing the outcome. After much hard work and dedication in definitely pays off to be able to be a part of such an awesome event.

  4. I think it’s so cool that you get to go to all of these different events and this one sounded especially fun since OPI is such a recognizable brand. I personally love their polishes and reading your post totally reminded me that I should paint my nails! I think it’s clever that they based everything off of traditional food from New Orleans. It sounds like a really unique collection, although OPI is always putting out cool things.

Leave a Reply

