Putting in the Two Weeks

By Desiree O’Brien

This week marks Drexel’s week 8, which means there are two more weeks of classes. This is my last term so at the end of these two weeks I will be a college graduate! Graduating college means every aspect of your life changes, including priorities. Now that I am no longer going to be a full-time student, I must become a full-time employee. My college career not only included being a full-time student but it also encompassed being a part-time employee. Since I first turned 16 years old I have always had a job, and that did not change when I left for college. So, with my college career ending this means that my part-time job must also end. That is why I had to put in my two weeks’ notice at my current job.

The term “putting in two weeks” is a way of saying you are informing your bosses that you will no longer be working there and they can schedule you for only the next two weeks. This gives them a buffer time to find a replacement or make any changes necessary. When informing your bosses about this it is important to do it in a professional and respectful manner. This means you should do it in person and express your gratitude for allowing you to be a part of such an amazing company. These are people you may be using as references or you may even be back to work for so it is important to end on a great note!Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 3.58.50 PM
It made me very sad to have to tell my employer that I will no longer be a member of the team, but it is time for me to look into a career and focus on growing. I am so grateful to have had such a fantastic retail job throughout college because it really has prepared me for my future in retail and merchandising.

One comment

  1. Putting in your two weeks is always hard, especially when you’ve come to be part of a team! I’ve also been working since I was sixteen and I’ve had numerous jobs since then. Leaving them was never easy, but I feel like going through that experience has helped my communication skills a lot. It’s great that you will be able to use your previous employers as references during your next job hunt. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

