A Weekend in New York

By Sarah Campli

I always love when mIMG_8274y friends and family come up to visit me in New York over the weekends. It’s really satisfying to take them to places that I’ve discovered in my time living here, which I’m sad
will be coming to an end soon. This past weekend though was really fun! My Mum came up for the day on Saturday and we had a nice time shopping and exploring the East Village. We went to the BirchBox store in SoHo, which I would recommend. If you don’t know what BirchBox is, it’s a subscription service that sends you five travel-sized beauty items once a month, and they come in the most adorable box. At first I thought it was kind of silly, but it’s actually a great way to try brands/products that I would have never thought to try before. And the smaller travel sizes are great to throw in your purse! IMG_8691Anyway, the point is that they have a really cute store- front on Spring St and Broadway, where you can actually make your own BirchBox! Afterwards, we headed to a Ukrainian Diner in the East Village called Veselka’s. They have really, really good pierogies, although they do have American food, too. It’s one of those places that you can just tell is authentic and completely genuine.

On Sunday, my boyfriend came up to visit for the day. We ended up going to the Museum of Natural History, even though we had both been there before. However, the museum is so big that I think I see something new every time I go there! It’s a really nice way to spend the day, and it’s the same museum that “Night At the Museum” is set, which is kind of cool. Then, we walked around Central Park for a bit and had a fun time pointing out dogs (my kind of date!)

IMG_0735

2 comments

  1. Your weekend sounds like it was great time! I’m so happy you wrote about Birchbox because I have been debating if I’m going to sign up or not. It is such a cute idea but I’m unsure if I will actually use the product they send. Now that I know they have a store I definitely will go and explore, and maybe even sign up!

  2. New York is the best place to spend a weekend in. My parents have an apartment in New York and I can never get enough of it. There are so many fun and unique places to explore in the city, it’s impossible to be bored. My favorite museum to go to in the city is the MOMA, I find that they always have amazing exhibits (they also have a restaurant thats amazing). Soho is also definitely one of my favorite neighborhoods, I love the young energy that it has.

Leave a Reply

