Finding A Home at Drexel

By Victoria DiGiacobbe

Since I was young, I have always had high aspirations of working in the fashion industry. I spent days designing clothes, reading magazines about the newest trends, and sewing. I took me quite some time to fully realize that I was not truly happy studying the major that I was in, Marketing when I started at a different college in the fall of 2014. Although I do feel as though something in merchandising and business does suit me, Fashion merchandising is what defines me and has since I was a young girl. The idea of attending the Antoinette Westphal College of Media Arts & Design has always seemed like a dream, but I was always taught that my dreams would stay dreams until I make them a reality. That is exactly what I did. Antoinette Westphal is my step-grandmother’s sister, and it has been nothing but an honor to attend a school named after her.

When my hobby became a passion, my family had always insisted I attend Drexel and the Westphal College of Media Arts & Design. Originally when I thought that studying something other than design would be the correct thing to do for my future, it became apparent very quickly that I had made a mistake. I truly believe that if you are doing what makes you happy, then that is all that matters. It is never too late to make the right choice in a career path, but why not sooner than later and what better place to pursue my dreams and get a wonderful education while doing what I love all at the same time.

Although I may be biased toward our College because of all of the incredible things I had heard about it from my family before even attending, I am beyond impressed by my own personal experience so far. I attended a small, Catholic, private all-girls school, The Academy Of Notre Dame, where our classes were quite small and hands on. I grew up with learning differences but with those struggles, I truly found what suits me best in a classroom. I feel as though the classes I took at the Haub School of Business at Saint Joseph’s University served as a base for what I am and will be learning as a Design & Merchandising major at Drexel University. With this knowledge, I will have the ability to apply all that I have learned and become a positive contribution to the fashion industry.

I had the wonderful opportunity of working in a boutique for the past few summers. I enjoyed nothing more than spending each day in an environment like that. I was especially fortunate to be able to help select many of the pieces and accessories that were sold in the store. As much as I loved working as a sales person, that opportunity made my job my favorite experience yet. The thought of that being my occupation is thrilling. Attending a school as amazing as Drexel only furthers my desire to graduate and dive into the real world. I aspire to one day; predict the fashions of the future just as I had when I was young. I could not imagine a job that suites me better. I strive to one day have something that has been a lifetime passion of mine become my occupation and I believe that this will happen all because of the choice I made to transfer to Drexel University.

3 comments

  1. So so happy you transferred to Drexel!! Through your blog, you’ve really reflected your passion for D&M and why it’s so important to do what you love. It really proves how this major means a lot to you. Honestly, couldn’t even picture you as a business major! So glad you’re home xox

  2. Victoria,
    This article was very well written and I can relate to it since I also transferred here. I agree that I made the best possible choice transferring to Drexel.

  3. So happy you followed your dream and transferred to Drexel. Its so awesome that your Mothers step aunt is Antionette Westphal. I think it was very brave of you to transfer your second year of college since many people already have their friends at that time. Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

