A Letter To My (not so little) Brother

By Victoria DiGiacobbe

To my not so little, little brother, Luke,

On the day you were born, I cried because you were not a girl. My frustration and anger lasted for days…until I realized no matter what your gender was, you were still a cute baby to play with and well, I was stuck with you. As a five year old, the only thing going through my mind was how exciting it would have been to have a baby sister to play dolls, dress up, and all of the other usual girly-activities with. I now know how wrong I was to ever doubt how lucky I am to have a younger brother, even at the young age of 5.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Although there is a 5-year age difference between us, I would not change a single aspect of our relationship for the world, even if I had the chance. It wasn’t until a few years ago that our bond as siblings began to flourish. For that, I am forever grateful. You may be my little (in age) brother, but you are more than that to me. You are a best friend of mine that I could not get rid of even if I had the chance. You are wise beyond your years and each piece of advice you give me is taken to heart. I could not be any more proud of all that you have accomplished in your 15 years on this earth. Your hard work, love, and dedication for everything that you do is shown each day. You reach for the stars and accept nothing short of the best. You are an inspiration to me, along with so many others. Here are a few reasons why I wouldn’t trade having a younger brother for anything in this world and why I truly am the luckiest girl to have a young man like you in my life!

IMG_2588.jpg

  1. “There is no buddy like my brother”

You may be the most annoying person to deal with when you trash the basement with your friends but cleaning up your mess is also time I get to spend talking to you. Your always there, everywhere, which may be overwhelming, but at least you will always be a hand to help and an ear to listen.

  1. You tell it like it is

You never fail to speak your mind and say it exactly like it is. It may be a smack in the face or a wakeup call, but sometimes that’s exactly what I need.

  1. The oxymoron of “little” brother

You may be younger, but you are definitely not smaller. I believe you passed me in height at the age of 10. I may be five years older, but I am definitely the little one. I am constantly reassured that you will always be there to protect me.

  1. Movie Nights

Although you always say I insist on watching movies and end up falling asleep before the end, we have created our own movie rating system. Thank you for your willingness to stay in and watch the craziest, funniest, scariest movies with me!

  1. Our car rides

There is not a single person I know other than you that can listen to a song once and memorize all of the words. There is not a single thing I enjoy more than sitting in the car with you jamming out to the widest range of music. Whether it is country or rap, you know all of the lyrics to every song. Although you kick me off our Spotify account when I am listening, I will always forgive you. It does not matter if it is a 5-minute drive up the road or a long road trip; I am always looking forward to the time we spend in the car together singing, even though you are tone deaf.

IMG_7416.jpg

I could ramble on forever about why you make such an incredible brother and friend and name the countless reasons why I am lucky to have you. The last thing I will leave you with is this; you are never getting rid of me. I will always have your back, just as you will always have mine. Marc Brown wrote, “Sometimes being a brother is even better than being a superhero”. You are my superhero. I hope that I have had as much of an impact on you becoming the incredible young man that you are and are still becoming, as you have had on me. You may be younger but you are still my best friend and will always be. Thank you for all of the countless laughs, cries, memories and most of all, all of those to come in the future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

