The Wonderful City of Philadelphia

By Victoria DiGiacobbe

Last week, I was on the phone speaking with my mother about a family friend preparing for graduation in a few weeks. He currently attends Boston College and has begun to plan a future up in Boston, Massachusetts. As we spoke about how incredible both the school and the city of Boston were, my mother and I both agreed upon one thing, there is no city like Philadelphia. So many people who live so close to Philadelphia, and far, forget how amazing it is and how much it has to offer.

When I began to look at colleges, anywhere close to home, especially in Philadelphia, I did not even want to consider. It’s funny how things work out. I could not imagine my life without the city; let alone being at any school not in Philadelphia. Drexel is in the perfect location. Although it may not be considered a “college campus” because of the various streets it spreads across, Drexel has so much to offer because of its location.

University City is the perfect little college city with countless restaurants, boutiques and shops, museums, and of course, Drexel University and University of Pennsylvania. Right past Penn, there is also Philadelphia University and University of the Sciences. Also easily accessible are Temple University and Saint Josephs University. 30th Street Station is just a short walk from the heart of what is considered Drexel’s main campus. If you continue to walk past the train station, you will be taken straight to center city with even more food options, endless shopping, and so much more.

Philadelphia never fails to amaze me. The city has so much to offer. I could not imagine a single reason why anyone would not find something just right for them while visiting. Although my home where I grew up is only a 30-minute drive away from Philadelphia, I believe Philly is and will be my new home even after I graduate from Drexel University.

2 comments

  1. I live 20 minutes outside the city and, like you, did not want to come to school in Philadelphia at all. I didn’t think I would have fun or enjoy myself here because I was so familiar with it. I quickly realized that I wasn’t as familiar with it as I thought I was! there’s always something different and new for me to do. I’m definitely happy that I made the decision to come to Drexel, and I agree that I could see Philly being my home after graduation.

  2. AH, I love this post Victoria. I only live like an hour away and never knew much about University City before I came here my freshman year. But it truly is an amazing city and wouldn’t have picked any other city to attend college.

Leave a Reply

