Manuka Honey: Is it Worth the Money?

If you have been to a Whole Foods or any kind of holistic store recently you may have spotted a little thing called Mānuka Honey. Mānuka honey is a honey produced in Australia and New Zealand from the nectar of the mānuka tree. The honey holds medicinal properties and is the most potent anti bacterial honey available and is often used as an alternative medicine. One question commonly  asked about Manuka Honey is are its benefits fiction or fact? In the world of skin care it’s benefits have been raved about far and wide.mat-ong-1.jpg

Manuka Honey can be worn as a mask, a cleanser, or as spot treatment. A jar of Manuka Honey on average costs around 25 dollars which is a bit pricey for a jar of honey but for a multi used skin care product the price seems significantly less ludicrous. As a cleanser it can be used daily, and moisturizes the skin and helps heals scars. As a mask it should be used weekly. As a person who has used Manuka Honey, I can say that it has definitely helped with the luminosity of my skin and helped keep my skin moisturized, but has not really helped with the removal of acne. For it’s price I do not think it is worth a purchase unless you have very dry skin.

 

81lLXUhJngL._SY355_.jpg

3 comments

  1. It’s so easy to waste money on products when they are raved about and have so many beneficial properties. $25 for a jar of honey is a deal breaker, but also tempting at the same time since I’d like to assume it’s worth the price. Your review lets me know that I’m definitely not missing out!

  2. I have never heard of this and as an avid honey lover, I’m really surprised. Also, I’ve never heard of honey sold as a skin product! Can you eat this stuff too? I’m going to have to dig a little deeper to learn more about this! I’ve always known honey has some magic powers, but never for so many uses on the skin.

  3. I never have heard of this and I love going to whole foods! It is also so crazy that we tend to waste money on products that are so expensive that shouldn’t be. It is cool that this honey is also a skin product! I definitely want to check it out!

Leave a Reply

