Model Castings

My name is Emma Cataldi and I am this year’s Model Coordinator for the Drexel Fashion Show, and this past Friday we had our model castings…and it was a blast! For those of you who don’t know what a casting is, it is basically when all of the models that would like to be in the show come, give us their comp. cards (pictures), and strut their stuff for us. I have never been to a casting before, not unless you count my childhood modeling days. I have been a fit model for Drexel for about two years and was in the show last year as well, but never went to casting; but I know what it feels like to have people watching you try to show your best walk. So I tried to think how I would feel in their shoes during the casting…I would have peed my pants.

style

It all felt pretty surreal having the models come in walk for us. I was scared that I really didn’t know what I was supposed to be looking for in a walk. But as the models arrived and we began the casting, I started to remember my training. Having been to many critiques for the senior fashion design students as a fit model, and having my own walk critiqued by Renee and Roberta, I knew exactly what not to look for in a walk. But let’s be honest, who hasn’t done a model strut around their apartment for fun and thought “I could totally be a Victoria’s Secret model.”

496697258.jpg

We all know the basics; stand up straight, one foot in front of the other, not too much bouncing. But what most people don’t know is that your shoulders should be pushed back and your torso should be behind your legs as you walk (much easier to show than to explain). Kate, our amazing choreographer, runway coach, and announcer, also explained to us that women should always turn a certain way, a “pivot” she called it. She then added that men, however, should never turn this way. Men should always use their dominant foot to step back and turn.

a-model-walks-the-runway-during-the-nicole-miller-fall-2016-fashion-show-during-new-york-fashion-week

By the end of the day we had seen over 50 models! And trust me, we all learned a lot too. I had never seen so many different types of people and different types of walks. Many people think modeling is a piece of cake. I am not sure who really said that first because from what I have seen and experienced, it really hard. It is exhausting, nerve racking, and doesn’t always make you feel great about yourself. Models have to be strong, confident, brave, and open to constructive (not always the case) criticism. It’s a hard job and I really appreciate all of the models that came out; especially the Drexel students who were brave enough to come and try it out! I am so excited for the rest of this amazing process, and cannot wait until the day of the show. Make sure you all come out to see the amazing designs June 4th!!

Leave a Reply

