I Tell Myself I’ll Only Buy 1…

By Ashlan Koontz

Yes I have an obsession….and I have to admit, I love it. I’ve always had a keen interest in makeup, but most recently, my love for lipstick has grown. There are so many shades to choose from – classic pinks, flattering nudes, bold brights and show stopping reds. You name it, it’s out there.

My collection began with traditional deep berry-colored shades by Revlon. I liked how the color looked with my complexion and it was affordable costing only $8.

plum.jpg

After a bonding trip to the King of Prussia Mall’s Sephora with a few friends last summer, and wandering the aisles of the store, I broadened my growing collection and bought a bright berry. Well, I have to say it was brighter that what I was used to wearing. And there I fell in love with Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick.

hotpink

Then the trouble really began, I discovered ColourPop….ColourPop is an online, Los Angeles based makeup company. All of their products are “100% baby-friendly, bunny approved and only tested on humans.” And on top of that, they offer every shade one could possibly imagine, all at an extremely affordable price of only $5!! Who could possibly ask for more?

leather.jpg

My wallet will continue to shrink as my lipstick collection of only fifteen colors grows. I will be experimenting with these new shades for the spring and will be adding hopefully only just a few to my list.

Untitled-2.jpg

 

And keep an eye out for this Spring/Summer’s hottest lipstick trends, including shimmery gold and pale nude pink. Untitled-2.jpg

2 comments

  1. I have an arsenal of lipstick so I really feel you on this! I almost never wear any of it though. I’m dying to try Colourpop Liquid Mattes though so I’m glad you touched on them! They’re so cheap I was wondering if they were even worth the money (or the looming thought that some child labor or unethical testing happened from these). I also recently read an article about the Kylie Lip Kit and how it’s just a licensing agreement with Colourpop, how crazy is that?! The radical price difference is enough to make you croak. I have also seen a universal lip liner! This was at the drug store but who knew something could be that genius!

    • Yes! Colourpop is completely worth it. I was skeptical about purchasing from them in the beginning, but now I’m hooked. There is also this website called temptalia that has great reviews of almost every color and brand. I find it helpful when I am apprehensive about trying a certain color or new brand. Wow, I had no idea about the licensing agreement with the Kylie Lip Kit and Colourpop – that is crazy!! I have been wanting to try that Lip Kit, although I have been trying to justify the price.

Leave a Reply

