Jean Talk

By: Gianna Leflar

Recently I have been really into buying jeans, whether they are 200 dollar J brand jeans or 29.99 dollar jeans from H&M. I never thought there was a big difference between more expensive jeans or cheaper jeans. But since I’ve been buying a ton of jeans I started to become more aware of the differences between cheaper jeans versus more expensive.

I conducted a poll on Facebook and asked my friends if they would rather spend more money on jeans that would last longer or spend less money on jeans that would last a season. 32 people voted on buying more expensive jeans and only 9 people voted on buying cheaper jeans. This poll lead me to think about how jeans become so expensive or so cheap. So I did some research and found this “diagram” from Refinery 29 that explains it very well.2AA1F60200000578-3168753-image-a-1_1437427330038

6 comments

  1. Gianna,
    I really loved this article. Jeans are one of my favorite things to buy and it was interesting to read about what other people like to buy. I own designer jeans and jeans from H&M and I can definitely tell the different but the diagram included in this article made it more clear to me!

  2. Gianna,
    This article (and diagram) really opened my eyes to the different types of jeans. I usually stick to the low end jeans, but I now may reconsider my purchases after seeing this. Jeans are my go-to, so I am glad I am informed!

  3. This diagram goes to show what type of jeans your looking for at the right price. I never thought about buying jeans that way. I usually just went for the best deals, but now I know what I’m paying for. According to the diagram, it seems that a person would want to buy $50 to $100 jeans. I guess it goes to show that you get what you pay for.

    • This diagram is similar to the chapter I learned from my FASH-201 class. In the chapter, we learned how retailers sell jeans for a lower price in order to make more sales and attract customers. Personally, I buy $50 jeans from Gap. Not because of the price, but because certain brands have certain styles that suit my hourglass figure. According to the diagram, it’s fair quality!

  4. This diagram is similar to the chapter I learned from my FASH-201 class. In the chapter, we learned how retailers sell jeans for a lower price in order to make more sales and attract customers. Personally, I buy $50 jeans from Gap. Not because of the price, but because certain brands have certain styles that suit my hourglass figure. According to the diagram, it’s fair quality!

  5. This diagram is similar to the chapter I learned from my FASH-201 class. In the chapter, we learned how retailers sell jeans for a lower price in order to make more sales and attract customers. Personally, I buy $50 jeans from Gap. Not because of the price, but because certain brands have certain styles that suit my hourglass figure. According to the diagram, it’s fair quality!

Leave a Reply

