Best Summer Skincare Products

By Casey Nyhus

Up until the time I got to college, I was never really concerned with my skincare, mostly because I was lucky enough to have naturally nice skin throughout my childhood and teenage years. However, when I got to college, I realized just how important it was to take care of my skin when my face starting breaking out from stress, makeup, and unhealthy dieting, among other things.

Not being used to having unhealthy skin, I was a little embarrassed, and instead of fixing the problem with a good skincare regimen, I covered up my issues with foundation and concealer, which ended up making the issue worse. Last summer, my skin reached its peak of damage and I realized that I needed to really take care of my skin in more natural ways.

I learned the hard way that skincare is important, especially in the summertime when your skin is releasing more oils than it is used to and getting more exposure to the sun, which are both not necessarily good things. However, using the right products for your skin type and building a daily regimen will keep your skin in good condition no matter what the weather is like.

  1. Sunscreen

Growing up with pale skin always made sunscreen a necessity for me, especially in the warm weather months. Burning your skin is not only dangerous to your health, but also extremely unhealthy for the natural moisture that your skin is supposed to have. Sunburning dries out the pores and kills skin cells, which results in peeling.

SunBum SPF 50 available at Ulta.

Clarins Multi Protection Broad Spectrum SPF 50 available at Sephora.

2. Oil Free Moisturizers

Unless you have a naturally dry skin type, which some of us do, oil free moisturizers are essential to hydrated and happy skin in the summer time. Since our skin is already releasing more oils than it is used to, it is best not to add more oils to our skin via moisturizer because this can cause breakouts.

Belif Oil Control Fresh Moisturizer available at Sephora.

Clinique Turnaround Daytime Revitalizing Moisturizer available at Sephora.

3. Facial Mist

I didn’t really see the importance of facial mists before last year, but  when I started using the Mario Badescu Rose Water Facial Spray, I saw a difference in the way my skin was naturally, and the way it reacted to other products. Facial sprays normally include natural minerals that calm your skin and reduce redness, and also give your skin an extra and natural form of hydration, without releasing more chemicals onto your skin.

Mario Badescu Facial Spray With Aloe, Herb and Rosewater available at Ulta.

Fresh Rose Floral Toner available at Sephora.

4. Salicylic Acid Peels and Scrubs

Facial peels help with evening out discoloration, removing dead skin cells, and drawing out extra oil from the skin. It also helps reduce the size of pores, which become more obvious in the summertime. Doing these once a week will improve not only the health, but also the appearance of your skin, even when it starts to get oily on a humid day.

Peter Thomas Roth 40% Triple Acid Peel available at Sephora.

Belif First aid Transforming Peel Off Mask available at Sephora.

5. Tinted Moisturizers

As someone who enjoys wearing makeup as a hobby, I hate to give up my favorite foundation in the summer time. However, tinted moisturizers are a great close second to foundation. They provide pretty decent coverage and the same glow that foundations do, as well as hydrating your skin and providing an extra layer of protection against the sun.

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20, Oil Free available at Sephora.

NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 available at Sephora.

One comment

  1. Casey,
    I really enjoyed reading this article. Skincare is one of the biggest things I am worried out, especially for the summer. I have always used the same products over the past couple of years so it was interesting to read about these products. I am definitely going to check out these products!

Leave a Reply

