Oversize me

By Sarah Oh

Many celebrities and stylists are debuting the oversized look. It might bring us back to the ’90s when oversized crewnecks and sweatpants were in style. This was the time when it was okay to wear loose clothing that hung off your shoulders or didn’t fit tight around your waist. The real question is: Are tight skirts and small crop tops an old fad now?

Although crop tops and leggings may never go away, oversized jackets have definitely become the new accessory to an outfit. It’s now okay to go to the store and get two sizes up for a jean jacket. Anyone can wear a cute dress and pair it with an oversized jean jacket to complete the perfect casual cute outfit. Especially since the weather is cold, it’s becoming hard to wear what you want without freezing or having to carry around a huge jacket. An oversized jacket is perfect to keep warm and still look cute in the cold. This trend is something everyone should try. You don’t need to go to a thrift store to have this vintage look when you can do it yourself.

 

 

sarahhopeoh24

Hello, my name is Sarah Oh. I currently attend Drexel University and is anticipating to graduate June 2017. I wanted to tell everyone a little about myself. To start off, I grew up as the first generation of Korean American. My parents were immigrants from South Korea. They came to America at around the age of 20 with little to nothing in their pockets. Eventually my parents settled down and decided to own their own dry cleaners. I grew up being around the dry cleaners after school and around the age of 12 I was helping my parents around the store. My mom was a seamstress and that's what sparked my interest with clothes and sewing. Even at such a young age, I would take scraps of fabric and sew anything I put my head to. My parents saw my passion and interest in art so they've been enrolling me in art classes up until my senior year in High school. At the age of 16, I desperately wanted a job in retail. But with a lot of searching and convincing , I was able to have the opportunity to work at a small boutique in my local mall and eventually ended up as assistant manager at age of 17. Now that I am a senior in college, I have learned so much about what I am passionate about and can't be any more thankful about the experiences I gained from college. If I can say that I believe that I was destined to work in the fashion world, I am a strong believer. I want to continue to grow as a person and do something I really love to do.

One comment

  1. This is a very interesting blog. I have noticed that oversize clothing is becoming a huge upcoming trend. People are becoming more comfortable wearing clothes that are too big. In fashion many 90s trends continously come back on the runway. It is interesting to see how trends and styles from the past are modernize and reused today!

Leave a Reply

